Hi
Ive got an error message saying "Object reference not set to an instance of an object." It doesnt make sense to me and the troublshooting tips says to make a new keyword, but since Im new to C# I dont fully understand it. Heres the bit of code thats making the problem. I think I know why the errors coming up because Ive linked two classes together so I might not have done it right. Can someone help me with this please? I just can't seem to figure it out.

class Athletes
    { 
private Event myEventParticipating;
public Event EventPart
        {
            get
            {
                return myEventParticipating;
            }
            set
            {
                myEventParticipating = value;
            }
        }
}
class Event
    {
private string myName = "Shotput";
 public string Name
        {
            get
            {
                return myName;
            }
            set
            {
                myName = value;
            }
        }
}
Console.WriteLine("=====Athlete 1 - Details=====");
            Console.WriteLine("");
            Console.WriteLine("Enter First Name of Athlete 1:");
            athlete1.FirstName = Console.ReadLine();
            Console.WriteLine("Enter Last Name of Athlete 1:");
            athlete1.LastName = Console.ReadLine();
            Console.WriteLine("Enter Address of Athelete 1:");
            athlete1.Address = Console.ReadLine();
            Console.WriteLine("Enter Phone Number of Athlete 1:");
            athlete1.PhoneNumber = Console.ReadLine();//Up to here these lines all work fine
            Console.WriteLine("Enter the Event that Athlete 1 is participating in:");
  [U][B]athlete1.EventPart.Name = Console.ReadLine();[/B][/U]         

Console.WriteLine("Thankyou, Athlete 1 has now been saved.");

The underlined code is the line that comes up with the error that I cant figure it out where Ive gone wrong. Any help will be appreciated, and thanks in advance.